ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini (2026): Free Plans, Prices and Which AI Assistant Fits a Small Business
ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini: what each free plan includes, what the first paid plan costs, team seat prices and what changes outside the US. All prices in USD from OpenAI, Anthropic and Google's own pages, checked 22 Oct 2026; prices rechecked 23 Oct 2026.

No one paid for this, and it has no affiliate links. How we review.
Research-based overview: we have not tested this hands-on yet, so there is no score. Facts come from the makers' own pages, linked below.
On this page
Key takeaways
Verdict: ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini in short
In ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini, all three let you start for $0, so the real question is what the first paid step costs and where you already work. We read each maker’s own pricing pages on 22 October 2026 and rechecked the prices on 23 October 2026. All prices are in US dollars (USD), as shown for the United States.
- Cheapest upgrade: Google AI Plus at $4.99 a month, then ChatGPT Go at $8 a month, billed monthly only (ChatGPT Learn, Go help).
- The common middle tier is about $20: ChatGPT Plus $20 a month (monthly only), Google AI Pro $19.99, and Claude Pro $20 billed monthly or $17 a month on the annual plan ($200 up front).
- Teams: ChatGPT Business and Claude Team both list $25 a seat billed monthly or $20 a seat billed annually. Gemini Enterprise Business starts at $21 a seat a month.
- Ads: OpenAI says it doesn’t show ads on Plus, Pro or Business plans, so Free and Go users may see them. We haven’t checked ads on Claude or Gemini plans, so we don’t call either one ad-free.
- No winner yet. We haven’t run our side-by-side task test, so this comparison covers plans and prices, not answer quality.
Research-based comparison. We have not tested these assistants hands-on yet. Everything below comes from OpenAI, Anthropic and Google’s own pages, with prices rechecked 23 October 2026. Prices exclude tax unless a page says otherwise.
At a glance: free plan, first paid step and team seats (USD)
| Tool | Free plan | Cheapest paid plan | Main paid plan | Team / business seat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT (OpenAI) | $0; Free may show ads | Go $8/mo, monthly only | Plus $20/mo, monthly only | Business: $25/seat monthly or $20/seat annual, minimum 2 seats |
| Claude (Anthropic) | $0, "Free for everyone" | Pro $20/mo monthly, or $17/mo on annual ($200 up front) | Pro (same plan) | Team: standard seat $25 monthly or $20 annual, 2 to 150 people |
| Gemini (Google) | $0 with a Google Account | Google AI Plus $4.99/mo | Google AI Pro $19.99/mo | Gemini Enterprise Business: from $21/seat/mo, up to 300 seats |
What we checked
- Read Claude's pricing page and Google's Gemini subscriptions page on 22 Oct 2026
- Read OpenAI's ChatGPT Learn pricing page and its Help Center articles on Pro tiers, Business and ads
- Rechecked prices on 23 Oct 2026: ChatGPT Learn pricing, the ChatGPT Plus and Go help pages, chatgpt.com/pricing (monthly vs annual billing), Claude pricing and Gemini subscriptions
- Noted each free plan, cheapest paid plan, team seat price and country notes
- Not done yet: running the same small-business tasks on all three free plans
What we checked, and what still needs testing
We checked plans, prices, team seats, ads and country notes (the list under the table). We have not compared answers yet. Before we add any verdict on quality, we plan to run the same six small-business tasks on each free plan:
- Write a polite reply to an unhappy customer review.
- Turn a messy price list into a clean table.
- Summarise a 10-page supplier contract (PDF).
- Draft a week of social posts for a salon.
- Answer a question that needs a web search, such as public holidays this month in a given country.
- Translate a booking reminder into Urdu, Arabic and Spanish.
We’ll record which tasks hit a free-plan limit, and have three readers rate the answers blind.
The free plans, side by side
- ChatGPT Free ($0): OpenAI’s ChatGPT Learn page lists Free at $0 a month. OpenAI’s ads page says ads aren’t shown on Plus, Pro or any Business plan, so Free users may see ads. (ChatGPT Learn, OpenAI Help) We cover how those ads work in our ChatGPT Ads guide.
- Claude Free ($0, “Free for everyone”): chat on web, desktop and mobile; “Search the web, create files, and run code”; memory across conversations; “Connect your apps and tools”; and up to 5 Projects. (Claude pricing)
- Gemini Free ($0 “with a Google Account”): image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas and Gems, plus 15 GB of storage across Gmail, Drive and Photos. (Gemini subscriptions)
Every free plan has usage limits. None of the three pages gives a fixed message count.
Pros and cons
These come from the makers’ own pages. They are not quality claims.
ChatGPT
- Pros: a low-cost Go plan ($8 a month, per OpenAI’s Learn page); the widest set of personal tiers, from Free to Pro at $100, $200 or $500 a month; Business has admin controls, and “OpenAI won’t train on your workspace’s data”. (ChatGPT Learn, Pro tiers, Business overview)
- Cons: Free and Go may show ads; Pro “is billed monthly”, with no annual option; a Business subscription “does not include API usage” (building ChatGPT into your own software is billed separately).
Claude
- Pros: a feature-rich free plan (web search, file creation, code running, memory and app connections); an annual discount on Pro; a Team plan “for teams of 2 to 150”. (Claude pricing)
- Cons: no plan between Free and Pro; “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax”; “Usage limits apply” on every plan.
Gemini
- Pros: the cheapest upgrade ($4.99 Google AI Plus); a free plan with image generation, Deep Research and 15 GB of storage; Google AI Pro adds Gemini in Gmail, Docs and other Google apps, plus 5 TB of storage. (Gemini subscriptions)
- Cons: the prices shown are for the United States (the page has a country selector); some features are only “available in select countries”.
Pricing compared
As shown on each official page, checked 23 October 2026, in US dollars.
Personal plans
| Plan | Price | Billing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Free | $0 | — | ChatGPT Learn |
| ChatGPT Go | $8/mo | Monthly only; no annual plan | ChatGPT Learn, Go help |
| ChatGPT Plus | $20/mo | Monthly only; no annual plan | ChatGPT Learn, Plus help |
| ChatGPT Pro 100 / 200 / 500 | $100 / $200 / $500 a month | Monthly only | OpenAI Help |
| Claude Free | $0 | — | Claude |
| Claude Pro | $20/mo monthly; $17/mo on annual ($200 up front) | Monthly or annual | Claude |
| Claude Max | From $100/mo (5x or 20x Pro usage) | Monthly | Claude |
| Gemini Free | $0 | — | |
| Google AI Plus | $4.99/mo | Not stated on the page | |
| Google AI Pro | $19.99/mo | Not stated on the page | |
| Google AI Ultra | $99.99/mo (5x Pro limits) or $199.99/mo (20x) | Not stated on the page |
Team and business plans
| Plan | Price per seat | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Business, standard seat | $25/mo monthly; $20/mo billed annually | At least 2 seats | OpenAI Help |
| ChatGPT Business, premium seat | $125/mo monthly; $100/mo billed annually | 5x the usage of a standard seat | OpenAI Help |
| Claude Team, standard seat | $25/mo monthly; $20/mo billed annually | 2 to 150 people | Claude |
| Claude Team, premium seat | $125/mo monthly; $100/mo billed annually | 5x the usage of a standard seat | Claude |
| Claude Enterprise | US$20/seat/mo billed annually, plus usage at API rates | 20-seat minimum | Claude |
| Gemini Enterprise Business | From $21/seat/mo | Up to 300 seats | |
| Gemini Enterprise Standard / Plus | From $30/seat/mo | For stricter IT controls |
Outside the US: prices, tax and availability
- OpenAI: Business pricing “may vary depending on your country and currency type”. (OpenAI Help)
- Anthropic: “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax”, so VAT or sales tax (a tax added at checkout in many countries) may be added on top. (Claude pricing)
- Google: the plans page shows United States prices behind a country selector, so switch it to your country. Google’s pages give different country counts for its AI plans; the safest figure is that they’re available in 140+ countries and territories. See Google’s country list. (Gemini subscriptions)
We haven’t checked local prices for any country, so we don’t convert anything into other currencies.
Who it's for
Which one should you pick?
- Your business already runs on Gmail and Google Docs: start with Gemini Free. Google AI Pro adds Gemini inside those apps.
- You want the cheapest upgrade: Google AI Plus ($4.99) or ChatGPT Go ($8, monthly only). Remember that Go may show ads.
- You want web search, file creation and app connections before paying anything: Claude Free lists all three. If you upgrade, compare Claude Pro’s annual price ($17 a month).
- A team of 2 to 10: ChatGPT Business and Claude Team cost the same per seat ($25 monthly, $20 annual). Gemini Enterprise Business starts at $21.
- What you really want is customers answered and bookings handled, not a chat window. Let AIFix Automation answer customers for you (our own service), or see our AI receptionist comparison.
Whatever you choose, try all three free plans with your own real tasks first.
Alternatives
- Microsoft Copilot and Perplexity come up in the same searches. We haven’t checked their prices, so they’re unconfirmed here.
- Done for you: AIFix Automation (our own service).
FAQ
Is ChatGPT free?
Yes. OpenAI lists a Free plan at $0 a month. It may show ads, because OpenAI only rules out ads on Plus, Pro and Business plans. (ChatGPT Learn, OpenAI Help)
Is Claude free?
Yes. Claude Free is $0, “Free for everyone”, with usage limits. (Claude pricing)
Which is cheapest?
All three start at $0. The cheapest paid plan we found is Google AI Plus at $4.99 a month (US price). ChatGPT Go is $8 a month, billed monthly only (US price; OpenAI says Go pricing is localized in some markets).
Does the free plan have ads?
ChatGPT’s Free and Go plans may show ads. We haven’t checked ads on Claude or Gemini, so that’s unconfirmed.
Which one gives the best answers?
We haven’t tested that yet. We’ll run the same six tasks on each free plan and update this comparison.
Sources
- ChatGPT Learn: Pricing (Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business), OpenAI (checked 23 Oct 2026)
- ChatGPT pricing (plans and billing FAQ), OpenAI (checked 23 Oct 2026)
- What is ChatGPT Plus?, OpenAI Help Center (checked 23 Oct 2026)
- What is ChatGPT Go?, OpenAI Help Center (checked 23 Oct 2026)
- About ChatGPT Pro tiers, OpenAI Help Center (checked 23 Oct 2026)
- ChatGPT Business overview, OpenAI Help Center (checked 22 Oct 2026)
- Ads in ChatGPT: The Basics, OpenAI Help Center (checked 22 Oct 2026)
- Claude pricing, Anthropic (checked 23 Oct 2026)
- Gemini subscriptions (Google AI plans and Gemini Enterprise), Google (checked 23 Oct 2026)
- Gemini Apps limits and feature availability (country list), Google (checked 22 Oct 2026)
- AIFix Automation, AIFix (checked 23 Oct 2026)
This post was drafted with help from an AI assistant, then checked, edited and approved by Numan Malik.



